Who Said You Can’t Have it All? Push Yourself to Your Full Potential.

Major Career or Life Change? Are you retiring from the military, a recent grad, just out of the professional sports field, or someone who is changing careers or starting new? What is the first step?

Take the first step in the journey towards success with Jefferson Consulting!

What did I want to be when I grew up? I wanted something with competitive pay and a chance for advancement. Equal opportunity was on the forefront at the time. Companies were going to have a person of color sitting by the door. Many companies just wanted to make sure that they checked the box of having a minority employee.

What I felt was, if I have something to contribute, and I see a chance of upward mobility, I will be part of the company.  One potential employer was excited about the opportunity to have me onboard, but for all of the wrong reasons. “You’ll be paving the way, you’ll be doing this for your community, and you’ll be the first.” I said, ‘No I won’t be paving the way. I’ll be doing what is best for me and what is best for the company I choose.’

How do you do it? Figure out where you think you want to go. Take a self-assessment, write down your interests in a generic sense. Start with the end in mind. Here are a few suggestions:

What is it you want to be?

Are you primarily money oriented or purpose driven?

Do you want to LOVE your job?

Do you want to travel the world?

Sometimes the picture isn’t all that pretty. Sometimes the picture isn’t clear. Sometimes you figure out you have quite a hill to climb. At the end of the day you can be whatever you want, but it always takes a sacrifice. The question is: What’s the price you are willing to pay? You have to know yourself and what drives you.

What drives me is helping businesses and individuals through influence, knowledge, experience and planning. My hard work and experience through working for Shell Oil for over 30 years and as my role as the Director of Diversity, Community Affairs and Human Resources at Shell Oil Products makes me a well-trusted professional in the Human Resources and Organizational Development/Enhancement field.

Whether working for yourself or someone else, each of us can benefit from a professional coach and mentor in some form or fashion. My job is to tell you who is the best and what they have to offer. I find the best Human Resources and Diversity and Inclusion products that are needed to form or maintain a great business that will perform for years to come!

Comment below and tell me one dream and one aspirations you have. How are you going to accomplish each one? 

CLICK HERE to subscribe to the Jefferson Consulting newsletter!

Leave a Reply

